Linux Mint: Manual Partition (Common Mistakes)

Partitioning your hard disk for Linux Mint is similar to partitioning for Ubuntu. Since Mint is a derivative of Ubuntu.

Before I begin this blog I want to tell you that this is not a complete guide to partitioning. As there are many other blogs which beautifully give you a complete view of how to do it. Even I did my partitioning after going through such blogs to get an idea. But here I would like to point out some mistakes that i did which led to a lot of extra work, and hopefully you will not repeat the same.

If you want a complete tutorial of how to manually partition and dual boot along side windows. Take a look at this tutorial.

Basically you will need four partitions.
/
/boot
swapspace
/home

/boot will require about 500MB. This will contain the files that help you boot and shutdown. You must be careful with this. Because just below the partitioning table is a drop down menu where you need to specify the partition where you need the boot loader to be installed. “Device for bootloader installation”. As shown below

Courtesy: LinuxBSDos.com

You will need about 10GB ideally for the / or root partition. I run mine with 20GB root partition, which is not actually necessary. 10GB is more than enough according to most of the blogs. Sometimes people, even me, when i first installed Linux, partitioned the root finally at last and gave all the remaining space to it. How ever, it is advised that you do not do this. Leave the rest of the space to the /home partition. Which will contain all your user files. Meaning your documents, photos, videos etc.

Optimum Swap Space has always been a heated discussion in many of the Linux forums all around. Reading all these forums Ive come to my own conclusion which may or may not be the right thing to do according legacy Linux Users. But hey, It works for me without any trouble so I’m fine with it.

a) If the size of RAM is lesser than 2Gb. Then i allot a swap space that is double the size of the RAM.
b) If the size of RAM is more than 4 GB. Then the size of swap is same as the size of RAM.
If the size is anywhere between. You make a call.

I liked this particular link.

Just to give you a sense of satisfaction that even though you give more space it doesn’t matter. I will tell you my own configuration. I have 5GB of swap space for 4GB of RAM. I dunno Why I have that. But it somehow felt right at the moment I installed it and I did.

NOTE: Please be careful about specifying the Device for boot loader installation. This would be the most likely place that you would make a mistake. Because I did it too and my Linux would not shut down at all. It would just freeze with a terminal screen with a lot of errors. Then I found that the mistake was this and I had to reinstall Linux because all other trouble shooting failed. Besides reinstalling was the most straight forward thing to do..

Joys

One thought on “Linux Mint: Manual Partition (Common Mistakes)

  1. Pingback: Dual Boot, Ubuntu and Windows 7 « joyslearns

Leave a Reply

