Race Driver : Grid – Crashes on startup

racedrivergrid-01

Stuff you can skip:

I recently bought this game called Racedriver Grid from codemasters and its amazing. I love the game so much. The damage .. The sensitivity of the controls all that was amazing. If you haven’t tried it yet and if you love racing. Quit playing that NFS you are playin now and go for this one. Give it a try..

Ive installed the game in my laptop which is running on windows 7 basic on an intel i5 processor, and ive installed this on my Desktop which is running on Windows Xp Sp3 running on an amd athlon. It seemed to work fine on my Laptop and my desktop but later on the wouldnt start.

Problem:

Every time i start the game on my xp system. The opening screen would pop up and I would get an error report. The usual windows error report saying “Send/Don’t send”.
Although it works fine on my windows 7. But i guess that is not the real problem. Cos i’ve read enough articles and forums online to confirm that people running their pcs on win 7 also have the problem. I typed down this article so that you guys get a single source of information to what all you can try to run the game with success …

What I Tried:

I reinstalled it several times. Didn’t work. Although it takes a LOT of time.
I installed in some other folder rather than the default folder. Didn’t work. Although, one person from one of the forums said it worked for him so you might want to try that out.
I restarted my system. No effect.

Then finally…
I disabled the lan. Started the game. It ran perfectly. !  … I would suggest you do this first rather than all the other stuff. This consumes less time and you can cross out if it doesn’t work and move on to the other stuff..

More to try:

This worked for me… But if it still doesnt work for you.
Try right clicking the exe file and running as the admin. It has worked for some people.

Wait 15 days and run the game again . Even this has worked for some people.
Although i have no clue or logical explanation as to how this could work but it did and I believe it because it has happened to me sometimes. Not with this particular piece of software but with something else that i dont remember.

Quick Tip:

It might be irritating to Enable/Disable LAN in Win xp systems. Here’s a quick tip about how to Enable and Disable and How you can do it easily. Its pretty obvious, but then. Just take a look if you want to. Click here!

Try it out and post your comments if you are finding any difficulties…

Glad to help…

Joys…

9 thoughts on “Race Driver : Grid – Crashes on startup

  1. You are a savior!!!!
    Thank you so much!!!!!!!
    I’ve been drooling all over the internet for the solution of this crash but all in vain until I found your post.
    I was able to play the game on my Windows XP an year ago, I got Windows 7 this year and decided to play GRID again. Installed it and was shocked to see this crash. Tried patches, cracks, deleting hardware settings, spine ripping sub-zeros. Nothing worked. I deleted the game in disappointment. This week I gathered my courage again to find solutions to this problem because I wanted to play this game so badly.
    Luckily I did a few things I would like to mention here:
    I installed the game in default directory but in a different drive that is;
    D:\Program Files\Codemasters\GRID (Instead of C:)
    I installed in my D drive but in different folders.
    Secondly, I applied your idea and turned off the LAN for once.

    Surprisingly, it has now started working even if my LAN is enabled now.
    Though I might need to disable LAN for once again after a restart.
    Nevertheless, I’m playing the game now.
    Thank you again.

  2. there is few (more or less) :)) things to remember: sound related / lan related / procesor related /… Think of that ……not just one of them.. :). I will try with sound tomorow…

  3. Seems that the update 1.0 to 1.1 fix this isue ! works with 1.1 with crack (crack – 41,602 mb) and with patch 1.1 to 1.2 it’s works but not with 1.3 patch. SOLVED !

  4. jimy and johananj please replay if it works for you guys. I got an steering weel drive now and it works flawess… :)

  5. istrati, im so sorry. I uninstalled the game long back. :). My laptop has been turned into a work station now. No games at all. :|. I guess some one else has to confirm what you said. :)

Leave a Reply

