Gmail: Using Filters (Part 2)

In my previous post concerning filters i said i would show you one of my filters that is quintessential to me. I use it everyday.

I am doing my post graduation right now and me and my friends have a common printer which we bought together. We take regular printouts from it. So my mail is usually clogged with mails from 17 friends of mine for prints. So i created a filter that would do the following

1. Filter all the mails that has the word ‘printout’ or ‘print’ in it .. and.. Contains an attachment.
Note: I asked all my friends to include the words print or printout in the mails they send regarding prints.

2. I forward all these filtered mails to another mail account of mine. Which i find has a better interface for grouping mails and putting them into folders.

3. To finally top it off. I created a filter in my other account as well to filter all the mails coming from my first id and has the words print or printout and i put them all in a folder called printouts.

The following screen shots will make you understand the steps, nothing more is needed.

 

 

 

The ” | ” sign means or operation. It will filter out messages that have either printout or print in its content.

The very top portion of these filter settings is something you DO NOT have to fill. It’ll fill itself once you fill the other parts.

Click on continue….

 

In my case I wanted to delete off the mail in my gmail account. Because i didn’t want two copies of the same mail in two different ids. Well you get the space for free. But my conscience says why occupies someones space when you can conserve that space if you do a little bit of extra work. :).

Try it with your own needs. Comments are welcome.

Joys

Leave a Reply

