My Move to Linux Mint

Hello All ,

I have moved from Fedora 17 to Linux Mint 13 Maya. I felt that Fedora was consuming too much power from my laptop. Using windows i could use the battery for more than 2 and a half hours. With Fedora it lasts only for 45 mins. So I wanted to find a new linux alternative. I wanted to shift to ubuntu because i have used ubuntu before on my laptop and the power consumption is pretty decent and much better than fedora. But with the new UNITY interface for ubuntu, which i didnt like, I didnt want to take the risk of loading the operating system and then erasing it again because i didnt like it. So the next best alternative was Linux Mint.

Linux mint is solely based on Ubuntu. The only difference between them would be the interface. Linux mint uses a Windows 7 kind of interface. So windows users will be really familiar with it I guess plus its smooth. I almost gives me the feel of an iOS. Yes!. The only minor disadvantage, which I feel is not that much of a disadvantage is that. The software releases always come 6 months later than Ubuntu. Meaning, whenever Ubuntu Releases an Update these updates will be available for Mint only after 6 months. But then, I am not really interested in being UP TO DATE. Well I don’t have a Blu Ray Player. Do I worry about that. No.

Anyways. So far the experience has been good. Although I made a few blunder mistakes while removing fedora and installing mint. Which will be the topics of discussion in the next few blogs.

Thanks for reading.

Joys

One thought on “My Move to Linux Mint

  1. Pingback: Dual Boot, Ubuntu and Windows 7 « joyslearns

Leave a Reply

