JoikuSpot, First Review

In my previous post, I said I would tell you how my experience with Joikuspot goes.

What is Joikuspot:

Joikuspot is an app you can install in your nokia phone running on symbian. It can turn your phone into a wifi hotspot so that you can use your phones 2G or 3G connection on other devices that come with only WiFi like an iPod. There are two versions. A free version and a premium version. The premium version cost me 35/- INR. That’s less than a dollar. Go to the Nokia Ovi Store and check it out.

Review, First Looks:

I’ve been using this software for less than two days, so I’m writing this post under the assumption that it would work the same way in the future too. If there are any modifications to what ive said below. I would write another blog and put a link to that in this one.

Although its performance was clean with no bugs or glitches it did suck a lot of battery out of my phone. If you are planning to use it for a long time you might want to carry your phones charger with you all the time. Yesterday, I recharged my phone thrice. I usually do it once everyday. I did not even use the software the whole time. I used it occasionally. With a total time span of maybe three to four hours.

joikuspot

But I do not blame the software though. I don’t think you can possibly build a better one, (As far as I know) because, it uses both your GPRS and your Wireless adapter simultaneously. It pulls data from web servers using GPRS and it has to use its WLAN card to route it to other devices. Using both simultaneously will surely pull a lot of power.

I suggest you use this when you ..
1. are really bored outside and you don’t really care about battery life.
2. are desperate to use your iPod or any other device that has only wifi but no 3g. Desperate to harvest that crop you planted today morning on farmville maybe? Winking smile
3. have your phone’s charger with you.

In any other case, It would be a bad choice.

Thanks for reading..

Joys

Leave a Reply

