Trying out MATE

So its true. MATE is lighter on the processor compared to Gnome 3. I can feel a significant reduction in heat on my laptop and I’ve stopped hearing my cpu fan pushing hard for slight processor heavy tasks on my desktop. It also feels much lighter – Faster response times.

Not finding much differences between cinnamon and mate though, but I guess when it comes to being light on the processor, mate might have the edge.

So when the time comes for me to build my own Arch Linux pc I would probably choose MATE over Gnome 3. Although it feels a little outdated(like Gnome 2, of course) I guess it’s good when you need to get the job done rather than look for eye candy.

Leave a Reply

